Everything I need to know, I learned from golf:

April 27, 2010

I sit here right now overlooking the practice green and 1st tee, and my kids are off in the diner area of the clubhouse getting sandwiches and doing homework. It’s a great job; not really even a job. It’s getting paid to enjoy one of my favorite passions; golf. And as I sit here, it occurs to me that I am who I am now mostly because of this game. So, I made a list of my own golf lessons; that have kept me grounded over the years.

1. Be honest. If you carded a bogey, you carded a bogey. Plain and simple. Accept it and move on.

2. Rules aren’t meant to be broken.

3. Don’t take yourself too seriously. Golf humbles you very quickly.

4. Find a passion in life. When you find it, don’t take it for granted.

5. Cheaters never win, and winners never cheat.

6. Keep a positive attitude. Sometimes, you’re going to fall. When you do, get back up.

7. Don’t argue when you know you’re wrong. That actually helped me a lot in marriage.

8. Take the time to be thankful for the gifts of nature. If you’ve ever seen a foggy course at sunrise, you know what I mean.

9.  Be on time.

10. Be patient.

11. Be courteous.

12. It’s a lot more fun when you have a partner beside you.

13. Find a job that makes you feel like you never have to work a day in your life.

Leave a Reply

